On July 21, 2021 at the Nam Nam Eatery, Kubo Inn, Poblacion Dagohoy, Bohol, a turn-over ceremony for the Natural Resources Management (NRM) subprojects of the People’s Organizations (POs) for the Wahig-Inabanga River Basin (WIRB) under the Integrated Natural Resources and Environmental Management Project (INREMP) was conducted. About 11 of the partner POs from Danao and Wahig-Paacsalan watersheds of the WIRB were able to attend and participate the said ceremony.



Officials from the DENR and LGU from WIRB conducted a signing of LOU with the PO Magsaysay Farmers Association on July 21, 2021 during the INREMP Turnover and Acceptance Ceremony of Completed NRM Subprojects (CY 2016-2018)


Among them are the following POs: 1) Lubang Farmers Organization, 2) Magsaysay Farmers Association, 3) San Miguel Association Resource Team, 4) Cantubod Association for Rehabilitation of Environment, 5) Ilaud Vegetable Growers Association, 6) Bayong Farmers Association, 7) Lataban Agrarian Beneficiaries Multi-purpose Cooperative, 8) Nan-od Farmers’ Growers Association, 9) Pamacsalan Tree Growers Association, 10) Datag Farmers Association, and 11) Sitio Ilaya Canlangit Farmers Association.




Photo Op of the LGU and DENR Officials with the 11 partner POs during the INREMP Turnover and Acceptance Ceremony of Completed NRM Subprojects (CY 2016-2018)


Assistant Regional Director (ARD) for Technical Services of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) Region 7, For. Charlie Fabre, delivered an inspirational message to the participants by congratulating the key actors of the Project who are the POs themselves. He lauded them for exerting all their efforts in maintaining the subprojects. He continued to remind them that the sustainability of these subprojects is their main responsibility. He has also assured them that the DENR is ready to support and aid them at all times even after the INREM Project.

Messages of support by the Local Government Unit (LGU) Mayors followed thereafter. Talibon Mayor Janette Garcia remarked:


There’s no need to further explain the support given by the LGU in addressing the environmental protection because all its efforts are continuous already. In fact, there was a straight three (3)-month period when LGU Talibon officials and residents were required to plant trees.


Afterwards, LGU Danao Mayor Jose Cepedoza expressed his gratitude to all those instrumental in bringing who brought these projects to all the POs in Danao and extended help to the poorest of the poor in their municipality thus uplifting their quality of living.


On the other hand, selected PO Chairpersons Mr. Claudio Halina of PO Nan-od Farmers’ Growers Association and Mr. Samuel Ayenza of San Miguel Association Resource Team gave their individual acceptance speeches. They both acknowledged all the people behind the INREM Project. During their speeches, they emphasized how the Project has helped them and their family’s way of living. They promised that they will continue to maintain and sustain these subprojects.


During the turn-over ceremony, Certificates of Completion (COC) were given to the involved POs of WIRB for their efforts in completing the Natural Resources Management (NRM) Subprojects of CY 2017-2018 under INREMP. Overall, a total of 56 NRM subprojects have been turned over to date out of the 129 total NRM subprojects implemented by a total of 56 partner POs within the four (4) watersheds of the WIRB.      


Together with ARD Fabre, the activity was graced by participants from the DENR namely: Officer- In- Charge and the Provincial Environmental and Natural Resources Officer (OIC-PENRO) Bohol Ariel Rica, City Environmental and Natural Resources Officer (CENRO) Talibon Richard Abella, INREMP Regional Focal Person Ambrocio Wenceslao, Provincial Focal Person For. Candido Salces Sr., Center for Environment Studies and Management (CESM) National Team Leader Dr. Manuel Bonita and officials from the LGUs of the Municipality of Danao headed by their Municipal Mayor, Hon. Jose Cepedoza and Municipality of Talibon led by their Municipal Mayor, Hon. Janette Garcia.